About us

The Australia and New Zealand society for Magnetic Resonance (ANZMAG) supports the science of magnetic resonance in Australia and New Zealand.

The society sets out to –

  • Support best MR practice
  • Award achievement through the ANZMAG medals
  • Host conferences
  • Facilitate the NMR Network
  • Organise training
  • Act as a hub for relevant news
  • Help members to network

For a historic perspective on the early development of magnetic resonance in Australia, see:

Nuclear Magnetic Resonance in Australia 1952 – 1986 

K.Marsden and Ian D. Rae.
Historical Records of Australian Science, 8(3) (1990)


Every two years, ANZMAG awards two medals to recognize outstanding contributions of a senior and a younger member of the Australian and NZ magnetic resonance communities.

The ANZMAG Medal is open to all financial members of the Society who meet the eligibility criteria. The medal is designed to recognize outstanding contributions to magnetic resonance in Australia and/or NZ. While research contributions are of primary importance, other contributions, including teaching of magnetic resonance or service to the discipline, will also be considered.

The Sir Paul Callaghan Medal is open only to financial members of the Society who have completed a PhD no more than 15 years before the closing date, with appropriate allowance for significant career interruptions. This award recognizes outstanding achievements in research by younger members of the Society.
Year ANZMAG Medal (Senior Investigators) Sir Paul Callaghan Medal
(Young Investigators)
Prof Martin Scanlon
Monash University
Prof Dane McCarney
2019 Prof William Price
Western Sydney University
Dr Nicholas Cox
  Australian National University
2017 Prof Lindy Rae
Neuroscience Research Australia
Dr Luke O’Dell
Deakin University
2015 Prof Glenn King
University of Queensland
Dr Oliver Jones
RMIT University
2013 Prof Gottfried Otting
Australian National University
Dr Mehdi Mobli
University of Queensland
2011 Prof Frances Separovic FAA
University of Melbourne
Dr Johan Rosengren
University of Queensland
2008 Prof Philip Kuchel FAA
University of Sydney
Dr Ann Kwan
University of Sydney
2006 Prof Ray Norton
Not awarded
2004 Prof David Craik
University of Queensland
Dr Terry Mulhern
University of Melbourne
Prof Paul Callaghan GNZM, FRS, FRSNZ
Massey University
Dr Joel Mackay
University of Sydney
Scroll to Top